I Will: Nine Traits of the Outwardly Focused Christian

The following is from Thom Rainer’s blog about his new book I Will.  I would encourage you to visit his sight at http://www.thomrainer.com

Thom: This week, my newest book, I Will, was released. So today on the podcast, we give an overview of the book and the resources related to I Will. Be sure to listen for the giveaway in the podcast and be one of ten winners who will get a free, signed copy of the book.

Some highlights from today’s episode include:

-Church membership is more about how you can serve than how you can be served.
-If you’re not in a small group, you’re not a fully functioning member of the body of Christ.
-The entire idea behind I Will is to get members focused outwardly.
-Giving is one of the key indicators for being an outwardly focused church member.
-You can tell a person’s commitment to their church by looking at their giving statements.
-Traditions are ok, but not when they become an idol in a church.

The nine “I Will” statements we cover are:

  • I Will Move from “I Am” to “I Will”
  • I Will Worship with Others
  • I Will Grow Together with Others
  • I Will Serve
  • I Will Go
  • I Will Give Generously
  • I Will Not Be a Church Dropout
  • I Will Avoid the Traps of Churchianity
  • I Will Make a Difference

What are your thoughts on these points?

Leave a Reply

